Beginning Strongman

Hello every one I am new to strength training I have done bodybuilding but, I am very much hinterested in strongman and I was wandering if anyone has any advice for me i would much appreciate. The only thing I ask you to keep in mind is that the most I can be in the gym is 3 days a week and I have Tires sleds and stones at my house.

YOu could probably adapt a 3 day powerlifting split to strongman.

Monday:
squats and sleds

Tuesday:
log press, etc upper body work

Thursday:
stones or tires
deadlifts
back work

I’ve never competed in strongman, but If I was planning on it, it’s how I would lay it out.

Thank you very much man

Havn’t competed in strongman yet (just in powerlifting) and would greatly value a “cross-trainer’s” point of view, but here is how I mix them. I’ve had good success with both my 3 lifts and my strongman times.

Mon: Squats, box, sled, fat bar curls
Tues: bench, close grip bench, pushdowns, pullups, dumbell rows
Thurs: deadlifts, tireflips, husafell stone, sled sprints, reverse sled drag, bb rows, dumbell shrugs
Fri: grippers (at home). Occassionally I’ll do ghetto atlas stones at home on Friday (toss them over a bar set at shoulder height)

Honestly, you gotta put a pretty good emphasis on the actual strongman events to become a decent strongman. Make sure you are hitting some type of event training each week. If you’re going to skip a workout, skip a gym workout. Get as much experience with events and equipment early on.

I made the mistake of slacking off on events and worrying more about gym strength for my first 12-18 months of strongman and it showed every contest. I built some decent (relatively) levels of strength and my gym numbers consistently went up, but I didn’t see a lot of improvement on events until I started hitting events a lot harder.

Of course this advice means nothing if you are already freaky strong. You can away with just muscling and manhandling things.