Beginning Powerlifter

Hey everybody I new to T NATION and I am very new to power lifting . I start lifting fours years ago,but I was just screwing around not taking it seriously. I only start seriously focusing on my training about 7 months ago( i am a senior in high school)I soon took an interest in power lifting because I want be strong and I me monstrously strong, but i don’t were to start, some advice and guidance would be greatly appreciate.

[quote]blacmoor wrote:
Hey everybody I new to T NATION and I am very new to power lifting . I start lifting fours years ago,but I was just screwing around not taking it seriously. I only start seriously focusing on my training about 7 months ago( i am a senior in high school)I soon took an interest in power lifting because I want be strong and I me monstrously strong, but i don’t were to start, some advice and guidance would be greatly appreciate. [/quote]

Best place to start is looking up Westside Barbell’s basic training template. Then instead of doing a 1 rep max, do a 3 or 5 rep max on your heavy days. You are still in the beginner mode, so a 1 rep max will not help you near as much as the extra time under tension. This is what I did starting out. Pay attention to technique–learn it, read about all of it (search Dave Tate and Louie Simmons articles, to start). Never underestimate the power of technique–you might think that something you are stuck on is a “weak muscle group” only to find after you have actually worked on the technique your poundages go up.