Beginning Linux

Hey everyone, how would you guys go about learning to use linux? What should I read up on? What are your experiences with linux like? Are there any particularly good linux sites you know of, for both learning and downloading programs?

I’ve recently become interested in computers and learning linux seemed like a good use of my time. I’ve read quite a bit, but any further suggestions would be welcome. And keep in mind, you’re talking to a complete beginner, so I have almost no clue what anything means.

Thanks.

I ahve been meaning to get into this myself. What I have read so far is that ubuntu is the easiest Linux install.

-Machine

Like mentioned above check Ubuntu and Gos, both good starting Linux distro’s. It will take some fiddling at first but once you get the hang of using linux its awesome!

Hi Roger,

I’m a Linux fanatic, been using it for years. I run my own servers, etc.

Ubuntu is a GREAT distribution to go with. I personally can’t stand any of the other “desktop” style distros, like Gentoo, Fedora or Suse.

How easy it will be to “learn” Linux depends on what you want to use it for. If you want a regular desktop for home use (email, surfing, chatting), just drop Ubuntu (which uses Gnome as a graphical interface) or Kubuntu (which uses KDE as its interface, which I prefer) on to some average hardware and you’re good to go.

If you’re hoping to be able to run any Windows app you want, you won’t want Linux, as getting them installed and running may or may not work. It gets pretty complicated, especially games.

If you’re wanting something to learn to increase computer skills and make yourself marketable in the IT industry, then I would recommend either Ubuntu, Red Hat, Suse, or Fedora, as those dists are used more often in corporate environments (of course, I still use good old Slackware no matter what company I work for).

So, I guess the question is: What are you looking to use it for? :slight_smile: