Beginning Highland Games Training

Highland games look like a lot of fun. And it’s a dandy excuse to wear a skirt!

But I don’t really know how to start. I’ve been to some web pages and checked out stuff, and watched the National Championships here at the Highland Games in NH last summer, but I have no background in throwing or anything. How does one get started? I tried to find some people in the area who could help, and ran into a dead end.

Since so much of it depends on technique with power, I’m hesitant about just running out to start with no help.
I live near Concord, NH.

This is a question I’d also be very interested in hearing answered.

Particularly, I’m wondering if there are any suggested minimum strentgh levels/qualities a person should have or develop before seriously getting into Highland Games training.

Dan John! Isn’t this totally his area of expertise? Caber toss and throws and the like?

Kuz

• Return with honor.

The best way is to visit a games and just do it.

I did my first games two years ago with no experience at all. I didn’t have to throw first in any event and all the competitors were more than willing to help me out. This is the best way to learn this.

Another option is to contact the local univeristy (or closet one) and talk to the track and field coach. They should be happy to help you learn some technique.

You could also get some implements, or make them, and practice, practice, practice.

Dan John has some great articles on this on his web site, just google Dan John and it’s the first hit.

On a related note, you’ll need a kilt. Try www.sportkilt.com. They’re stuff if the best and reasonably priced.

[quote]Kuz wrote:
Dan John! Isn’t this totally his area of expertise? Caber toss and throws and the like?

Kuz

• Return with honor.[/quote]

Yeah. I need to PM him, pry him out of the Old Fart forum…err, the over 35 forum to help with this.
:wink:

[quote]flabtoslab wrote:
The best way is to visit a games and just do it.