T Nation

Beginner's Progression into Weight Training

Hello to all and a small celebration to my first post here on T-Nation. I am a total beginner to weight training (After having a short stint with weight training in high school). Being 25 and changing my lifestyle in terms of nutrition and exercise has been exciting to say the least. Because i am beginning, i am gaining strength and muscle while i am also losing fat (which is my primary goal now since i am overweight, 207 at 5’11").

But because of a lack of muscle endurance, my workouts since i started a month and a half ago consist mostly of compound exercises (deadlifts, squats, lunges, bench press, assisted dips and pulls ups), and not much else in terms of muscle isolation exercises. I do understand the importance of changing things up for your body, every 4-6 weeks, so that your doesn’t get used to exercises. But right now i feel as though i’m still building up to the the standard weight a person of my build should be moving. an example will be that i should squat one a half time my weight, but i’m not nearly there.

i’m consistently going up in weights week after week and also trying to understand proper form and gain a sensitivity to which muscles should and are being worked in specific exercises.

so in that context, my question is whether or not i should stick to those tried and true compound exercises until i come to a plateau in terms of progression. then when i get there (i assume in another 2-3 months) i should try variations with those exercises and isolation exercises once i build endurance. moving to another exercise and taking the time to learn it seems counter productive where as there is progression and results in this current workout plan.

thanks in advance for your thoughts and advice.