T Nation

Beginnerish, Advice?

Hey Guys,
I'm relatively new to lifting, or at least new to knowing what I'm actually doing in the gym. I'm a soph. in college, 20 years old, weigh around 160, about 5'10, 5'11. I've been doing all sorts of different programs from WS4SB, individual muscle days, and now I'm doing Starting Strength but I haven't been getting much bigger and I've been doing it for about 3 or 4 weeks already. I am somewhat impatient with results, but does anyone have any advice or motivation? Thanks guys.

advice? how about try not to be so impatient!

did you expect to get massive with 3-4 weeks of starting strength?

Seriously. Come back in 3-4 MONTHS...then we'll talk.

Come back in 1 year and Ill have a little chat with you.
tweet tweet

make sure you eat enough

if you lift with enough intensity, the only way you won't be getting any results (regardless of the program you're on) is if you are sabotaging yourself with inadequate diet

when you don't gain weight over a period of 3-4 weeks, you need to eat more

I eat a shit ton of food when I'm at school, that's the thing. A day would go like this but depending on what the dining hall was serving it would vary somewhat, but the dining hall always has a large variety of selection.
Breakfast 830: 2 or 3 eggs, whole wheat toast or a toasted bagel w/ c.c., a banana or other fruit and choco milk.
Snack 1 11: A bagel or pb sandwich w/ yogurt and milk
Lunch 130-2: Grilled or Baked Chicken or some sort of meat or fish, salad or other vegetables.
Dinner 5-530: Depends on what they have on the menu but mostly steak, with a salad or greens, and a little pasta.
Snack 8-830: PB sandwich yogurt and chocolate milk.
Sometimes another Snack 1030 -11: Same as previous.

What should I change? I go back to school this Sunday so I'll be back to that eating regimen.