T Nation

Beginner Wants to Train Everyday

Last year I gave an overweight friend some diet and exercise advice and through a calorie deficit and cardio he was able to drop from 210 pounds to 130 in less than a year. He now is expressing an interest in bulking up. He got a gym membership last week and has been going to the gym everyday at 5 in the morning before school and on saturdays and sundays. The dedication is defintely there.

I asked him what type of program he was doing and he literally said he does benches and curls and abs everyday. He also said he tries to squat often. As you can see he doesnt really know what to do. I showed him Starting Strength and he was very against only training 3 days a week. Despite my best efforts he couldnt accept that less work could equal better results.

He also said that going to the gym in the morning was the only thing he looked forward to all day.

So my question is: Is there a good training program for the absolute beginner that would have him in the gym like 6 days a week? His goal is hypertrophy by the way.

Thanks

FUCKING HELL, you should be proud of any help you gave to achieve that huge weight loss!

Sure there is. He could split his body six ways - for example,

1. Quads/glutes (squat based day)
  2. Chest (bench based day)
  3. Upper Back/Lats (chin/row)
  4. Ham/Calves (deads, RDLs, leg curls, etc)
  5. Arms (bi and tri work)
  6. Shoulders (delt/trap stuff)
  7. OFF
    2-3 exercises per group, 3-4 sets, vary reps from exercise to exercise in the 5-12 rep range generally.
    Basic stuff. It works and is easy to sort out.