T Nation

Beginner Upper & Lower body Split

Hey guys, please give me your opinion on this upper & lower body split, intended for a complete beginner.

Lower Body 1
Back Squats 5 x 5 +2,5 kg each training session

Upper Body 1
Inverted Bodyweight Row 3 x Failure
Bench 5 x 5 +2,5 kg each training session
Pushups 3 x Failure

Lower Body 2
Deadlift 2 x 5 +5 kg each training session

Upper Body 2
Pullups 3 x Failure
Overhead Press 5 x 5 +2,5 kg each training session
Barbell Curls 3 x 12 +1 kg each training session
Reverse Fly 3 x 12 +0,5 kg each training session

1 Kg = 0,453 lbs, therefore 2,5 kg is roughly equal to 5 pounds.

I've been borrowing a good bit from Stronglifts 5x5, as you see this split still has lots of squatting.

So, what ya think? If u were a beginner, could you see urself going with a split like this instead of a full-body workout?
Would there be anything you'd change about that split?

Sounds good. Standing presses may suffer due to core fatigue after dead-lift day. Personally i'd switch inverted rows for db rows, specifically kroc rows. Add weight to the pullups once you can manage 3x8. If you really wanted to have some fun, you could treat them as a heavy exercise and do a ramped 5x5. Are your squats ramped or straight sets?

As a beginner your best bet is to stick 100% to a pre written program.

If you like 5X5 then stick to the template exactly as outlined until it stops working. I love the upper/lower 4 day split myself and am currently using WS4SB by Defrance which is working wonders.

I would recomend you have a look at it, but what ever you do decide on. Do it too the letter and do it for at least 6 months:)

@ J.Moran: Good point about the standing presses and deadlifts, im gonna do the deadlifts on Tuesday then.
I'm also gonna do the kroc rows instead of the inverted rows. I think I'm gonna go to 3x8 with the pullups and then do the ramped 5 x 5 with added weight.