T Nation

Beginner Trouble

Hi everybody!

This is my first post at T-Nation, so I think that it is appropriate to introduce myself. I am a college student, and 20 years old. And oh yeah, I'm from Holland. (So excuse me if my English isn't up to par). I am about 180 centimeters long, and a overweight. I weigh about 87 kilograms, and it definitly isn't muscle.

So, (You can already guess) I want to lose the fat, and build the muscle. Now, I read an enormous amount of nutritional advice on this site, and in one word, it is just great!

I tried to put all of this info to use in a mealplan. I eat 7 times a day, about 210 grams of protein, 90 grams of fat, and about 160 grams of carbs. I really think there are still to many carbs in my programme, but it is hard to find products with 0 carbs and a lot of protein.

My work-out programme is Rippetoe, I think that you are all familliar with that. But my main question is, do you think it is possible that I lose fat and build muscle. (Note; my lifestyle up to know wasn't great. I will change it first think in the morning, by starting of eating breakfast. I will drink water and grean thea all the time, eat 7/8 times a day. Because of these changes, do you think I will lose some fat, and gain some muscle? I also will add cardio after my workout)

Thanks for your advice, hints, tips, etcetera. I'm glad that there are still people willing to help a newbie out. :slightly_smiling:

Oh, and I love the site btw, really informative, sometimes funny, but it always makes me think about life and all of it's important aspects.

Lossing fat while building muscle, while possible, is a very difficult thing to do and not something I would recommend for a newbie.The likely outcome for someone like yourself trying to do both at the same time is you'll notice very small gains in either one, become discouraged, and maybe give up.