Beginner Squat Strength

When a person starts squatting, how much of a jump can they make within a year. 135lbs to 225lbs, or able to squat 400 on their first few tries. Anyone know any examples.

Like me, I’ve been squatting for 2 years and a half. I’m at 355lbs right now at a weight of 260lbs. Spent a year stuck at 315lbs.

[quote]WolBarret wrote:
When a person starts squatting, how much of a jump can they make within a year. 135lbs to 225lbs, or able to squat 400 on their first few tries. Anyone know any examples.

Like me, I’ve been squatting for 2 years and a half. I’m at 355lbs right now at a weight of 260lbs. Spent a year stuck at 315lbs. [/quote]

There exists no equation as several variables would be factored in to the equation.

However, if your goal was to increase your squat and you remained plateaued for a year, you were doing something wrong.–(Given your stats) Obviously at some point you may reach a max, but that is not your issue given what info you gave.

Small incremental increases as well as periodization is critical once you get into bigger weights. You can’t consistantly go heavier and you have to make those steps smaller. Add a washer. Add a lb. Add a 2.5. Add a rep…

The old story of the guy going out every day and picking up the calf and carrying it around has merit. By the day the calf grew little, but over the year the progress was obvious.

I don’t understand this. You’re the fourth person in the last week to ask a question like this.

The progress you make can be determined by you only. This means there are no equations and really not even any educated guesses that anyone on the Internet can make for you to determine what your progress should look like.

Use your past experiences (progress, training level, etc) to set your goals. It’s not that difficult.