Beginner Seeking Reshaping

Hey Testinators, I recently decided to “grow up” by quitting drinking and smoking, start lifting and definitely change my eating habits. I’m 21-yeard old, 170 (5’7) cm tall and weigh at about 68 kilos, which I guess is around 150 pounds, and (not quite sure about that) about 20% body fat. My goal is to reshape myself, by hiding my belly and building proper and symmetrical physique.

I have little to none lifting experience, did some working out in the past, know a thing or two, but need a general advice about workout type and nutrition. I think The 5/2 Fat-Loss Diet for Lifters will suit me nicely (if you have better suggestions, i’ll appreciate it), but totally lost about workout routine. Should I first build proper strength or go directly with hypertrophy plan? Should I do cardio and, if yes, what type? Should I use supplementation?

I’m really confused right now and my country is known for the personal trainers that need personal trainers (atleast most of) and broscience, so I decided to get the info I need by myself from respected and well-grounded sources like T-Nation staff and user base. Well, I guess this is it, if you need to know something more, feel free to ask. Will wait for your response. Best regards.

hey buddy!

I’m pretty new here and I can’t give a lot of advice on what to do other than focus on something like 5x5 strong lifts. I can however tell you what NOT to do.

I turned 21 18 months ago. I was 173cm tall, mid 20% bf and 69 kg, so very similar to you. I started off doing body part splits and eating everything, I also thought whey protein was a magic potion. and after 6 months I finally decided to ‘cut’ since everybody else seemed to do it.