T Nation

Beginner Prep School Assistance Circuit

Just a few questions from the forever book.

1. Without giving too much away, the book lists out two sample assistance circuits. Should I do Circuit 1 during Deadlift/Press days then Circuit 2 during Squat/Bench days?

2. I already do pushups and pullups during the main lifts, should I still do the push ups and chin ups prescribed in Circuit 1? Supersetting the pushups and pullups during the main lifts have really increased my work capacity and I would still like to continue doing them.

Thanks for any answers.

1 Like
  1. You can choose which ever one you want - I don’t think it really matters which one you do on a particular day.

2. Yes. I’ve been training for 30+ years and still do push-ups, chins/pull-ups, bodyweight squats and jump rope, etc. Don’t be fooled by the gloss of idiots.

1 Like

Will do! Thanks a lot, Jim!

few questions please

-the book says push-ups during the main work of the squat but I guess they should be done between the main work of the deadlift also!? I do it this way!?

-I always alternate between the two circuits but if I want to go a bit more in detail, whats “smarter” in your opinion. Should I do the circuit with the squat on my deadlift day and the swings on the squat day or the other way around and the circuit on with the squat on squat days and the swings on deadlift day?

-you wrote in the book that in general high school males use a 53 pound kettlebell for swings on average, depending on the strength level of the athlete… what weights do you seen using kids on the DB-squat in this program on average? Can you throw some numbers around from weak to very strong for the circuits?

thanks

It doesn’t matter.