T Nation

Beginner Powerlifting Program for Experienced Weightlifter?

Been a long time lurker of T-Nation and just made an account to ask this question. Here’s my situation:

I’m currently a 20 yr old college sophomore weighing about 215-220lbs. After just fnishing a bulk my body fat is probably around 15-18% My current numbers and realistic with near-perfect form are:

Bench:290
Squat:315
Deadlift:430

My goals for 365 days from now are

Bench:315
Squat:405
Deadlift: 500

I have been lifting full body seriously for at least five years, and benching for probably about eight. The reason my squat is so bad is that 1) I trained for football in high school and squatted like a high school football player with terrible form and 2) I took a full year off of training legs after high school (lol).

Just in about the last 4 months have I really gotten serious about full body training again. My training partner the last 4 months is a competitive power lifter with much more strength, knowledge and experience with me. Thanks to his help I reset my squat weight to much lower than I thought I could do and fixed my form. In these 4 months of training full body again I completed two separate bodybuilding programs, packed on almost 25 pounds of muscle (and fat) and outgrew all my pants. All of my lifting forms are solid and I want to join my buddies power lifting team in hopefully a year from now.