T Nation

Beginner Looking for Appropriate Workout

As a young beginner I have been doing as much research as i have had time for, yet i find it hard to come to a conclusion as to what workout routine to use.

First of all some info about me: I am 16 - been lifting for 4-5 months without much of a routine planned out. That is to say I have simply been doing splits by alternating muscle groups so that I do them all in an even manner. Ill do 1-2 muscles per session. I am a skinny prick (6 foot 2 - 160ish pounds) and am planning to eat like crazy to resolve this aspect.

Thing is, I hear that for beginners, splits may not be the ideal choice and that I should perhaps be looking at a more compound orientated programme such as Rippetoes Starting Strength. Apprantly this is the path to follow for noobs looking to stack on the pounds and gain strength as quickly as possible and should be the first step taken before progressing onto a programme with more volume or with increased focus on isolation exercises.

The other alternative I had in mind was to follow Thib’s ‘How to design a damn good program’ and continue working on splits. I have a couple of friends who got big and strong on splits so it could work.

Sorry if you have read similar posts a million times but i am really stuck here and will appreciate any constructive feedback you guys can provide me with.

:slight_smile:

well I am 17 been lifting for strength sports(powerlifting,Oly lifts, and strongman) for a bout a year now. I have made great gains with splits of 3-4 days a week. But you have to choose what your main goal is (ie.bodybuilding,strength sports, speed) figure out what your main goal is and writee back here or better yet PM me and I will help you out as best I can.