Beginner Doing Squats Only?

Hey guys.
Beginner here! Would like to get some tips from experienced powerlifters.
Just started strength training and i fell in love with squat and deadlifts( 1,5/1,8xbw) but i hate benching, and recently started to have pain in my lower back everytime i deadlift(coach says form is ok but i will stop deadlifting for some time) so i am focused on squats for a while as is the only one i can do pain free and is my favorite lift.
I have read that the GPC will allow single lift meets for the squat and i decided it will become my priority.
What do you guys think?
I have seen many lifters who compet in bench only meets or push pull, but no squat only lifters.
And how will you program a squat only routine?
I am squatting 3 times a week light day, medium day, heavy day based on 1rm.

Thanks for those who will answer

Not an experienced powerlifter here but I thought I’d chime in anyways.

First off, that’s a horrible idea. You’re a beginner, work everything. Hell, if anything, work your bench more. A lot of newer lifters I know(me included, only my third year lifting) tend to have weaker upper bodies and they work all 3(or 4, including OHP) lifts equally.

As for the squat only meets, it’s too early for you to make it your ‘priority’. Pay your dues first.

As for programming, just get on a program designed by a coach.

1 Like

I’ll echo what @Benanything said.

First, make bench your priority because it’s lagging. Bench every time you train, once heavy per week, the other times moderate to practice technique (don’t do anything other than comp bench for about 12 weeks). Build your bench by building your upper and middle back too. You should probably row at least as often as you bench.

Your back likely hurts because it’s weak compared to your legs, so do what you need to strengthen it. Back raises and barbell rows will help, as will heavy dumbbell rows. Front squats too. Keep deadlifting, but don’t go beyond 80% until your back feels better.