T Nation

Beginner Bulking Up Program?

Hi Im a teen beginner bber (around 5’9") 117 pounds looking to bulk up like a lot. Im very new so Im not entirely sure how to create a program(bb.com didnt help too much). I have 40 pound adjustable dumbbells that i can always but more plates for. I would really appreciate the help and im willing to work. My top goal is to look like lorenzo becker. thanks!

Do you go to a gym or just lift with the dumbells at home?

dumbbells at home

Youre going to need to get more equipment or join a gym.

Then you can look into programs like WS4SB or 531. There is a search engine on the upper right corner of this site.

ok thanks

Google Reg Park Beginner 5x5

[quote]Mr. Frost wrote:
Google Reg Park Beginner 5x5[/quote]

A comparable program totally designed for a beginner is Rippetoe’s Starting Strength Program. The Starting Strength Wiki has the program (actually a few variations on it). The forums here include a long thread on Starting Strength, so searching for it should pull those up.

If you cannot get to a gym, you could probably work for a while without equipment beyond dumbbells, just get used to doing a damn lot of pushups, DB floor/bench presses, DB overhead presses, pullups (either find a bar, use monkey bars at a playground, use a door frame), DB rows, lunges, and such to build a base until you can get into a gym.

So, if you can get to a gym, start with a 5x5 program or Starting Strength. If you cannot possibly get into a gym, say so and people here can maybe point you to info on a good bodyweight and/or dumbbell program.

While the gym is important you need to eat a lot more. 117 lb is not even close to healthy for a 5’9" male and realize Lorenzo Becker has 100 lbs on you.