T Nation

Beer, Bitching, and Lifting

Well, I figured it was about time I started some form of a log here on the T-Nation. A whole bunch of humbo jumbo is going on for me right now so maybe this will help keep my head straight(er).

A little background:

I’ve been lifting on and off for around 4 years with about an entire year off in between. Probably only 2 of those years were actually spent gaining anything though.

I’m not that tall and I don’t weigh that much. I’m not weak but I’m not strong (T-Nation standard strong, anyways). I drink too much and I don’t eat enough. I make slow gains and I sabotage myself completely but I still push forward anyway. lulz and I love beer.

Goals:
My main goals are to not get a beer belly, gain muscle, and gain some strength - not necessarily in that order. I’m probably what you would call a ‘recreational’ lifter.

What this log will feature:

Most probably some ranting will occur here. Also, I will try to post my lifts and such a day or two after I perform them. Also, I will post any beer reviews I come up with here and I’ll let you know what I’m brewing. BEER!

in

Oh, shit! My log just got real. One of the strongest dudes on this site stopped by!

Thanks for following along, man, and don’t make fun of my lifts too much! You dwarf me in size and lifts!

Alrighty, so today was:

Shoulders, traps, and triceps
High incline press - warm up and ramp up to 150 x 6, 5, and 5. I felt weak as hell on these today. I got 11 on 150 last week and was expecting to be able to go up to 160.

Lean away lateral raises - 40 x 8, 8, 8

Shrugs - 130 x 10, 220x5, 300x 4, 2, 1 - my grip absolutely sucks. I need to invest in harder CoC grippers because I only have up to the 100lb one.

Overhead extensions w/ Ez-Bar - bar x 20, 65 x 12, 90 x 8, 5, 5 - I was stronger on these than I expected. I had mostly been doing lying ez-extensions but I wanted a change of pace. The Ez-bar is harsh on the wrists though when doing overheads.