T Nation

Beer and T-Dawg Diet

How much does the T-Dog Diet suffer if I once a week have a beer (or two) on a different day then my cheat-meal day? I know it should be avoided, but as Im a student and 22 years old, its very hard indeed to stay away from social bar-visits and similar stuff.

Um, maybe you should change your name.

Dude, just suck it up and drink a diet coke. And get some new friends. You can always drink on weekends.

Wait, that really doesn’t answer your question. You can, to a certain extent, drink hard liquor and stay in ketosis–er “near” ketosis–but beer has a lot of CHO–er, carbs. Alcohol has calories, too, 7 kilocalories/gram, and, as it doesn’t fill you up, is a pretty fast way to make you fatter. So you can throw a shot of Rum in the diet coke (or get a vodka tonic) and not blow your diet too bad (IMO) but make sure to count the Calories.

Then again, just deal with it, and drink one night per week.

d/c

I’m a college student also. Ive been drinkning about twice a month. I will be going into a low carb diet, but i was only going to use my 2 times a month to drink on my carb up day. Would it b better to drink liquir?

Not to sound like a jerky but c’mon now. Does the diet have beer in it? NO. If you’re looking for optimal results, don’t drink. If not, then have a drink every now and then.

Ryan:

if it’s your cheat day, feel free to drink beer. No reason to stick to “The Smartest Bartender Gets Very Rich”–er, Tequila, Scotch, Burbon, Gin, Vodka and Rum.

Two times a month doesn’t sound like it’s “out of control” to me–on your cheat days.
d/c

dogchild,

Beer does not have ‘a lot’ of carbs in it. Most beers (non light) have only about 10 grams of carbs. Light beers (Coors Light for example) have about 5 grams of carbs.