T Nation

Been Lazy - No Excuses

My first post, however i have been on the T-Nation boards from when i lived in the states, though that was about 10 years ago. Now I'm 31 and have been training off and on for 12 years. It's been more off than on to be honest. I have probably averaged one session a week over the last 3 years.

I am an all or nothing type of person. I can go from going to the gym 6 times a week to not going for 3-4 months at a time. Such as I did from august to December last year - not good.

The worse thing is, there has never been anything to stop me from working out. Have a decent job, 9-5 with little stress, fiancée who is supportive, no kids to take away my time and no injuries for almost 10 years since when I played soccer/football to a very decent standard. Hence, there is no excuse other than laziness.

Like most English people, I like a drink and probably drink around twice a week. And even though I am a good cook, I tend to eat a lot of crap when I'm at work. I also have a ridiculous sweet tooth.

The purpose of this log is to keep me honest and hopefully track my progress to an improved me.

Back in January I thought I would list some goals for the year and these were...

Weight - 231
Waist (around belly button) - 34"

3 mile run - 21 mins
10k run - 45 mins

Curls - 135lbs
Shoulder press - 225lbs
Incline row - 315lbs
Bench press - 315lbs
Squat - 405lbs
Dead lifts - 495lbs

I am currently 6ft 2" and weigh 250 lbs

In all honesty, I am not concerned about how much I weigh so tempted to remove the weight goal.

I started the year well, in the first time in years I cleaned my diet up, no alcohol, no junk food, sweets etc.., went to the gym regularly, lifts went up and i dropped 10lbs in a month. However, a family emergency came up and I got knocked off course and for the last couple of months I have been back to my old ways.