Beefing My Way to a 100kg Snatch

I’m destroyed. Today i had a bad day, failed a 140kg FS and got my wallet stolen. But thats not going to stop me. I’m starting this thread in seek of advice so I can get my dreaded 100kg snatch.

Now, a bit of me:

BW: 92-95kg

Bench: 118kg

Back squat: 170kg

Front Squat: 135kg

C&J: 113kg

Snatch: 87kg (catched the bar with my legs at 90º, not completely full snatch, i have problems catching the bar in the hole)

Snatch Balance: 87kg

Power snatch: 85kg (easy)

My weaknesses are so far:

+Technique

+Legs/quad strenght?

+tightness in the achilles tendon, making almost impossible to get in a full squat with my spine vertical to the flor.

As you can see im pretty new to this sport. I have been practicing for about 10 months. I also practice judo 2-3 times per week.

Now, here are some vids showing my technique, keep in mind that I’m working with about 70%1RM

Snatch:

Overall I’d say you look pretty damn good. The only thing I would suggest as far as the full lifts go, is that your hips are a little high in the start position. Lower them until your shoulder joint is vertical over the bar and keep your weight back on your heels so you don’t go into hip extension prematurely. This will take time and just doing reps with lighter weight.

As for mobility, check out the san francisco crossfit channel on youtube. Kelly Starett is hands down one of the best when it comes to performance and mobility.

Hope this helps! Good luck lifting!!

agreed, your hip turnover is very good and you seem very athletic. I would love for you to get your hips down a bit at the start of the pull, enough that your shoulders are just above or slightly behind the bar. This will cause your back angle to be about 45 degrees in this start position (it will rise naturally as it needs to, via leg extension of the first pull).

edit: also, x2 on Kelly’s mobilitywod.com. He has great stuff for the achilles/calves.

[quote]PB Andy wrote: