Becoming a Powerlifter After ACL Sugery

Hey, my name is Emu, and I’ve been lurking for a while but haven’t posted anything before. I started training to be a Powerlifter on September 19th. I had ACL and meniscus surgery in May, so I spent the whole summer reading up on what to do. I haven’t been able to squat or deadlift with weight until recently, but I have been using a broomstick for both everyday. My doc just approved using weight, so I have worked to up a 95 pound deadlift this last week, and it is fun as hell. I haven’t started squatting with weight yet, but that’s next on my list.

I’m doing 5/3/1, and so far my max bench has been 245 x 2. I’m 21, my body weight stays around 176, and I’m 5’11". My max overhead was 115 x 4, but I destroyed that during my second 5/3/1 cycle which I’m currently on. I can’t do much conditioning yet, but I do cycling as much as I can.

I was wondering if you guys had any advice on coming back from acl surgery or just on stuff in general. I’ve never been more sure of anything in my life - I want to lift big. Thanks in advance.

Hi Emu, welcome to the iron game & welcome to the boards. I also had surgery back in may. Only mine was a shoulder rebuild (torn rotator cuff, labrum and biceps tendon plus a bunch of arthritic spurring on my acromion, which acted like a cheese grater on my biceps tendon). I did 12 weeks of therapy and was cleared to begin lifting around mid Sep. Doc said to consider myself “normal” just weak.

Boy was he right! 2 days before my shoulder surgery I had benched 315 for 2 sets of 8 and finished on a triple with 365. That first bench session back I got freaking OWNED by 65#. lol. I did some incline benching on Tuesday and worked up to 185 for reps and was able to do 2 pull ups! ha. I used to do anywhere from 48-64 (8 reps, 5-8 sets per session)