Beating PRs & Keeping It Safe

I have some experience with powerlifting but never did much super heavy stuff at the strength gym I used to go to (mostly a heavy 6 reps). A big reason was because of imbalances from previous injuries playing basketball, judo etc.

My bench was always terrible but since I have been visiting a chiropractor my bench shot up 40kg in about 2 weeks which is great (the jump in strength is scary enough as it is). However I am feeling very cautious about beating my PRs because with all the injuries I have sustained I am finally moving forward after about 8 years of problems.

Any ways, I watched this video with Dave Tate:

I just wanted to hear some opinions and also see if I understood the video correctly.

If you match your 1 rep max PR then going past this:

• Have no more than 3 attempts at a new weight
  • Do not bench more than 3 times after beating your PR
  • If you exceed 105% of your PR then stop

I am interpreting it that going against these invites serious injury AND you will not create further gains any ways.

Any insight or clarification would be really helpful. Any searching on google seems to generally come up with people saying “I just keep going until I fail”. But DT is obviously a figure to be respected so here I am trying to clarify my understanding.

Thanks,

Ian

I also found this video:

According to Louie, as soon as you beat your record (I am guessing to any degree at all) you just stop. Or as he said “you are out of the door”. Does this mean your workout is done, no accessory exercises at all either?