Beat The Apocalypse - Bodyweight Only or Resistance Bands?

Gym CLOSED again

Im looking for the ''Beat the apocalypse ‘’ -bodyweight workout.

Do i need something like resistance bands or its 100% bodyweight only ?

thanks !

Unless you are a complete beginner and new to the omnicontraction system, you will need some extra resistance.

You can use resistance bands but this will make some of the training methods (a lot) harder. If you use the band approach, make sure you have a set and start with the light variations so you can make adjustments.

You could also make your own training tools, use bricks/books/anything thats compact and has a measurable form of progressive overload in a backpack, sandbags etc to overload the exercises.

Some exercises will be challenging enough with BW only.

I’ve done the BTA BW program 2 times, it’s awesome and it works if done correctly.

what did you had to do it properly?

Well, you can do the program properly if you respect two conditions:

1. Prioritize good form on every rep, especially the last ones that count the most.
  2. Make sure you use external resistance if needed to achieve the right intensity parameters for the exercise. If you need to be at an RPE of 9-10 on every set of an exercise that tells you to perform 10 reps, this means you need to come close to or reach failure on that 10th rep. If you reach rep 10 with BW only and you feel like you can do 10 more, the intensity is not nearly high enough. Hence you will need some external resistance.

I stuffed a backpack with bricks to perform my exercises and adjusted the number of bricks depending on the type of exercise (squat vs pushup) and the difficulty level (for ultraslow eccentrics like the darden method on pushups I did not even think of using external resistance, this method is brutal enough on BW alone).