Beach Training for the NOVICE Performance Oriented Lifter?

Hey Christian, quick question please!

I’m a 19 year old weak novice, 6ft tall at 186lbs, at around 20% bodyfat. I’ve been doing Rippetoes starting strength for 5 months and currently have a 255lb squat, 310lb deadlift,200lb bench press and a 150lb overhead press.

I didn’t do too well with the diet, my poor attempt to bulk up left me with quite a bit of flab, hence the 20% bf at 186lbs, increased from 12% at 152lbs.

My current goals are to continue with the program for another 2 months, to squeeze everything i can out of my novice strength gain potential. I’m currently trying to bulk up for my weight class in boxing, i’d like to be at around 170-175lbs and at around 7% bodyfat.

I’m sure you’re aware of the starting strength program, but just incase, it’s:

3 workouts per week, alternating,

A

Squat 3x5
Bench 3x5
Deadlift 3x5

and

B

Squat 3x5
Press 3x5
Powerclean 3x5

Sorry for the long intro! Here’s my question!

Whilst I have seen great muscle gains in my chest, back, glutes, quads and hamstrings, I have noticed little to no difference in my delts, biceps or triceps. Obviously this is from a vanity point of view and not a performance oriented one.

Though I have seen little development, I lack much development anyway. Whilst having a 42 inch chest, my biceps are a pathetic 14 inches. 14.5 FLEXED!

Would you recommend your ‘beach training for the performance oriented lifter’ article

for a weak skinny novice such as I?

My dumbbell bicep curl, 3x10 is a struggle using just 40lbs. And my lateral raise is a pathetic 22lbs for 3x10.

Is the program in that article a little too advanced on me, would you recommend focusing on just building strength in exercises like barbell curls instead of changing the exercise each session (cable curls, preacher, etc)? What about the delts and tri’s?