T Nation

Beach Boys: Stop Whining!

Haven't posted much here, but I wanted to bitch about something, so here goes.

I'm no expert, and definantly don't claim to be MR Olympia
I'm currently 6'1, weigh 210 lbs.
probably around 10 or 11% bf.

Here's the thing, I go to the gym, warm up with 225 on the bench, and usually finish with 265. Thats where I'm at right now.
Three months ago I was benching 165.
hell three months ago I weighed 170 lbs.

Often times a skinny surfer dude will walk up and ask: how do I raise my bench? or How do I get thicker arms?
I have no problem helping a bro out.
Before I got focused about gaining weight/putting on mass I looked like a starving AIDS victim.

So I'll share a few things with these guys that helped me out... eat, eat and eat
and challenge yourself to do a little more every time you hit the weights etc..
What annoys the crap out of me is when these guys that can't even do a pull up yet respond with complaints about 'getting flabby' or "I wanna keep my six pack".

I know there are alot of people on this forum that are nuts about body fat etc.
and I am a little partial to strength training vs. sculpting myself.

Maybe I'm the only one that hears this kind of 'beach body' BS.
There's a time and place for cutting.
but
If your goal is to look like these 'bad boys'
on MTV, by all means...
go home, take out your Gazelle or Bowflex, chug a Slimfast...
do whatever you need to to keep your abs, watch your waist, whatever...

but if your serious about adding a shelf to
that bird chest, or a few inches to your pshooters...

Get serious, lift heavy, and for the love of God... EAT!

Peace