T Nation

BCAA vs Whey Powder

I'm sure there must be an article or thread that discusses this, but my search did not find much.
so what's the value if any of taking both BCAA and Whey powder shakes?
I always heard that whey is the single best source of protein supps.
but lots of folks talk about BCAA too.

“The BCAAs stimulate the effect of insulin in three different manners. The first manner through which the metabolic pathway is affected is the increased production of insulin. It has been demonstrated that BCAA supplementation in accordance with carbohydrate intake following resistance exercise increases insulin output by 221%, which is much greater than the 66% supplementation without leucine” Wiki

They increase the body’s ability to synthesize protein. So taking both should net you the greatest results. I think… I’m just a newb

Tipton et al. just had a study published that showed that Leucine and Whey supplementation had no extra effect over Whey alone in young healthy men. However, in older men they did have a greater effect. I other words, if you are a healthy young (<40) male, just stick to protein and carbs after exercise and don’t waste money on BCAA.

[quote]mcook123 wrote:
Tipton et al. just had a study published that showed that Leucine and Whey supplementation had no extra effect over Whey alone in young healthy men. However, in older men they did have a greater effect. I other words, if you are a healthy young (<40) male, just stick to protein and carbs after exercise and don’t waste money on BCAA.[/quote]

Good to hear… I’ll have to check that out. That’ll save me some cash! Thanks!

No problem, you can look it up on pubmed.com. search leucine or just paste "Stimulation of muscle anabolism by resistance exercise and ingestion of leucine plus protein.

Tipton KD, Elliott TA, Ferrando AA, Aarsland AA, Wolfe RR.

Appl Physiol Nutr Metab. 2009 Apr;34(2):151-61."