T Nation

Barbells vs. Dumbbells

(Yes, this is a side-track from the "Shoulder Horn" thread.)

If a newbie wanted to start working his/her pectorals, and asked for advice regarding the relative pros and cons of using the Olympic barbell vs. a pair of dumbbells, what would you advise?

Let's assume for the sake of this argument (and ONLY this argument; of COURSE there are other situations), that the gym in question has 100-pound dumbbells, so that the lifter couldn't go above 200 pounds on the bench press exercise without using a barbell. BUT, here we are talking about a total newbie who isn't going to be benching 200 any time soon.

"Discuss. Not TOO heatedly."
--Rosencrantz & Guildenstern Are Dead

Well it really depends on what you want to gain. If you want a big bench, well then you heav to bench sometimes. But, if you are looking to build the pecs like you say, I am going to assume you're talking about hypertrophy. You want growth, and I believe that dumbells are the way to go, but for flyes, not presses.

Another effective movement is the cheat fly. Take two dumbells as if you were going to do a dumbell press and as you lower the weights, let them drift outward slightly past your elbows. Keep them under control, as it easy to let the weights pull your arms out. Once you reach the bottom, reverse the motion, and repeat. You will have to find a weight somewhere less than what you press but more than what you use for flyes.

If you read "The Shoulder Horn" thread, then you should know that I find no fault in the bench press, however you really to do it correctly. Read some articles here on form; especially Dave Tate's stuff(can't go too wrong with a 600 lb bencher).

At the same time, don't make the newbie mistake of over-using the bench press. Most elite level bench pressers only do heavy, full-range bench presses every few weeks. The fill the extra time with other benching exrcises, like floor presses, board presses, rack lock-outs, and other variations.