T Nation

Barbell Rows - Form check

Hi guys. I'm new to lifting and would appreciate it if you guys could give me some pointers and critique my form on the rows. I feel it most in the arms, barely on the back.

Edit: I use an overhand grip, slightly wider than shoulder width.

I'm new as well, but I had this problem too and what worked for me was:

Wider grip
Light warmup sets with squeezing at the top to focus on the back, before starting the actual work sets
Tucking elbows in - flaring them hits the back of my shoulders instead of hitting the "meat" of my upper back
Simply focusing on the back throughout the entire exercise, nothing else

This might help: http://www.T-Nation.com/free_online_article/most_recent/curing_imaginary_lat_syndrome

Cut the weight, hold for a 1-2 count and SQUEEZE the shoulder blades at the top, push chest out. You will find those missing muscles :slightly_smiling:

that doesn't look bad

I just see the head moving around a lot and a little upper back rounding at the top. Maybe try to concentrate more on keeping the torso tight (you've got the lower back locked in, that's good, but remember your spine goes all the way up).

As far as what muscles are being used, you could try either widening the grip (more upper back), or pulling more towards the waist (more lats - might find it is easier to to do this with an underhand grip)

Other than that, just keep trying, always concentrate on what you're doing, try to flex the muscles you are working (make sure you can flex them period lol! I think when I first started I didn't even know I had muscles in my back.)

Initiate the row by pulling your shoulders back, then drive straight up with the elbows. The way you do it now, you begin with the arms and don't get a full stretch or contraction... try to visualize the back muscles working

Stop flipping your head around and looking all over.

You need to concentrate and focus, not look around at every square inch of the gym while you row.