T Nation

Barbell Row Question

Hi, Iâ??m a total newbie. As such, I can admit that I know next to nothing about training, but something happened today in which I could use your help.

I came to TMuscle/T-Nation via the Velocity Diet. It worked fantastic for me. Iâ??ve been off the program for a few weeks now, and so I started a new training program. I sat down, read as much on here as I could, consulted my doctor, consulted my buddies who are bodybuilders, etc. I then came up with a basic programâ??approved by everyone.

Today, I was doing bent-over barbell rows, which is a part of the VDiet training program for beginners. I thought that it was safe and effective for someone of my level to do. Then a guy in a Hardcore shirt who was moving some serious iron came up to me and said that newbies shouldnâ??t do the bent-over barbell row. He said that it worked â??secondary musclesâ?? and could damage my back.

My question to you: Is this true? Should I be doing some other rowing work, like the machine row or something else? I canâ??t imagine that guys like Coach Waterbury would have newbies doing something that was too advanced for them. What have been your experiences?

I ask because I have had back problems in the past, and I really want to avoid another round of problems. My program usually includes some set of core work to stave off injury. I also choose to do free weights like barbells and dumbbells to for the REASON TO increase my core strength.

A hardcore T-Shirt means sweet fuck all. If he was shifting an impressive weight, well, fair play to him but he's totally wrong with this.

The bent over row is a very effective back strength builder. Unless you are experiancing pain when or directly after rowing where you hurt your back I wouldn't worry about it.
You say the V-Diet had you doing the BOR? Did it give you any problems then?