T Nation

Bar Pad Situation with Client

All right, so I'm a trainer, and I never let my clients used the maxi pad when doing squats. One of my clients recently told me that her chiropracter told her to use some padding when doing heavy squats. I told her that it's actually more stress on the back if you have the pad there (elevating the center of mass, plus adding a second vagina). Does anyone have a link to some good documentation showing proof that the bar pad sucks?

Elevating the center of mass? By half an inch? That's some pseudo science bullshit if I ever heard it. Let her use the damn pad.

If you think about it, all the "bitch pad" is doing is increasing the surface area the weight is distributed over, at the expense of increasing the center of gravity (which you said yourself).

A lot of people who I see using the "manpon" typically have pretty poor bar placement and stick the bar right on their cervical vertebrae. Also, this particular individual might have very underdeveloped traps, and the bar is pushing on a thoracic vertebrae. In either case, she probably doesn't know how to hold the bar correctly.

In my experience, a raised center of gravity causes people to have a more anterior weight-bearing posture and be a bit more knee-dominant on their squats. Depending on the depth of this person's squats, her limb lengths, and other mechanical considerations, that could be putting more stress on her lumbar spine.

I think you should be careful about liability in this situation, though. If she claims her chiropractor instructed her to use padding, and then she injures her cervical or thoracic spine, you could find yourself in a pretty shitty situation.

Just put her on the leg press, if she's seeing a chiropractor at all then chances are if she injures her back in any way, then you know who's going to get blamed...

Limit your liability.

This post was flagged by the community and is temporarily hidden.