T Nation

Banjo Tips

Any banjo players in the forums? I’ve been playing guitar for several years now and am looking to get into banjo now! I have no idea where to start though. Where do I even begin? What kind of banjo should I look for? Any tips on learning?

One time, I played a banjo and then fucked my sister afterwards.

[quote]Ripsaw3689 wrote:
One time, I played a banjo and then fucked my sister afterwards.[/quote]

The banjo is the gateway instrument to incest. True story.

I enjoy music, but I don’t play it, so take my advice for what it is worth.

Listen to music involving the banjo. Look for forums more specific to understanding that sort of music. Don’t listen to these people who equate the banjo with incest, because THAT DOESN’T MAKE SENSE.

Become a good banjo player. Do what it takes, and if you can’t find a good compass as to what brand makes a good banjo, figure it out yourself.

[quote]Ambugaton wrote:

Listen to music involving the banjo. Look for forums more specific to understanding that sort of music. Don’t listen to these people who equate the banjo with incest, because THAT DOESN’T MAKE SENSE.

Become a good banjo player. Do what it takes, and if you can’t find a good compass as to what brand makes a good banjo, figure it out yourself. [/quote]

I was kidding, bud.

My grandfather was in the Philly string band. Watching him play was a one of my favorite memories of him.

[quote]imhungry wrote:

[quote]Ripsaw3689 wrote:
One time, I played a banjo and then fucked my sister afterwards.[/quote]

The banjo is the gateway instrument to incest. True story.[/quote]

Stairway to Incest.

OP, pick up a cheap banjo at a local music store and screw around with it for a while. Download/Youtube lessons for things you are struggling with. It is pretty similar to guitar, although the style of play will be the challenging part/thing that will make you a better musician. BTW, I’ve only played banjos in music shops while messing around with weird instruments.