Bands and Free Weights

I’m a recreational lifter. I’ve been lifting weights for 3 years now. I want to start using bands with barbell weight to force me to lift more weight and also develop more explosiveness, but I have no idea where to start.

The thing that confuses me the most is what percentage of the weight should be bands. Does this change if I can lift a lot more? like say my 1RM for bench press is 135lbs. Do I use 100lbs free weight and 40lbs band? Or would you say that if my 1RM is only 135 (which it isn’t), that I shouldn’t be using bands? What if my 1RM was 225… would I use a larger band because I can lift more free weight? The numbers are just an example, I’m not entirely sure what my bench 1RM is as I haven’t tested it in a long time. I’m guessing around 200lbs, which definitely could be improved on.

Another thing I’m unsure of, is how often I should use bands. I have read that they can really tax the CNS so it may not be wise to use them consistently. Some go for 4-6 months of bands/chains then 4-6 months w/o, others seem to go like one on and one off.

Thanks for the help.

Based on what little information about you there is in your post, I’d say you don’t need bands or chains or anything like that yet. Stick to straight weight, aim to add weight to the bar or reps consistently and you’ll be fine.

Maybe when you’re benching over 1.5 times your bodyweight and squatting and pulling 2.75 times your bodyweight or more you’ll benefit from adding bands and stuff - and maybe you won’t. I’ve used bands and chains, when I was below those benchmarks. I’ve made better progress without them.

If you want to develop explosiveness, pause your bench and squat.

There’s some really good guidelines on elitefts for which bands to use when your maxes are at a particular level.

If those 3 years have actually been training and not just ‘working out’, I’d say your good to go with them.