T Nation

Band training

Hello all, I was curious who else here uses bands as their primary means of training. I did a search but the threads I've seen all seem to be about using bands as supplements to normal weights. I bought a good set of bands about a year ago and found that they are a great way to train. The only time I go to the gym any more is to use the treadmill, since it's too damn cold outside to enjoy running. Not saying I couldn't benefit from doing certain exercises with free weights, it's just that I can do pretty much everything at home with the bands. I only started lifting weights a couple years ago, so I'm a still newb, but I feel that the bands have made it much easier to target certain muscles that I was having trouble with in the gym with regular weights or machines.

For example my upper chest, which has lagged behind for so long, is now exploding since I figured out how to effectively target it. Incline bench never seemed to really do anything for me, and I couldn't put the chest machine to full use since it seems like my arms are too short to effectively use it, but with the bands I can position myself perfectly to target that area, and I can adjust my position, distance from anchor point, etc to get exactly the right amount of tension and angle of attack. I put a strap around my arm at the elbow to attach the band, and I can isolate that muscle no problem, without my forearms/hands/etc coming into play and screwing up the mechanics.

So anyone else out there using bands and loving them?

This chick

Haha, nice

Shift: You made a post in the wrong forum.

Sorry. I looked through the various forums and this seemed like the most relevant. Which forum would be more appropriate? Thanks.

This one.

lol...how creative. This thread was actually intended for serious discussion...not for smart asses with no clue to weigh in with their ignorance. Thanks for your contribution though. :slightly_smiling: