Bally Total Fitness Job

I’ve been looking for another job and put in an application for a receptionist/sales job at my local Bally’s (never worked out there before). I put down on the application that I’m currently studying for a PT certification and today they called and wanted to schedule an interview for a PT position.

So a couple of questions:

1. I’m aware that gyms (like Bally’s) give 90 days to become certified to new hires, but how much knowledge/expertise do they really expect?

2. The cert I’m studying for is by the NCSF. Is this a reputable cert?

From what I’ve gathered from other internet sources, for the most part large gym chains like Bally’s are good places for people to gain experience in the field, and usually aren’t looking for the best of the best PTs. I’m going into this assuming I’ll be training middle-aged, frustrated and rich women hehe

Anyway, please feel free to share your own experiences or offer any advice you may have. Thanks a ton!

So you’re saying that you want to learn and gain experience and that Ballyss doesn’t have good people working there. Wouldn’t you want to learn from the best so you can be the best? I would suggest to find out who is the best in your area and then learn from them. Not as easy at going to Ballys but nothing worthwhile is.

“for the most part large gym chains like Bally’s are good places for people to gain experience in the field, and usually aren’t looking for the best of the best PTs.”

The above comment basically means that because chain gyms are so large, they often have to employ a large staff of PTs. Thus, the minimum requirements on work experience etc. are far lower than what you might find at a privately owned, non-chain gym. However, they do have “managers” who have experience in the field and who I would assume would be able to help the less experienced PTs learn the trade.

I work as a trainer in a gym. Business for me is way up and then way down. I don’t try to ‘sell’ myself to anyone.