Balancing Crosstraining

How often do you need to train in something to make progress? If you have a base style which is you main focus, how much time should you spend on cross training? Using myself as an example I train BJJ, and have been messing about with a few judo sessions, but if I seriously wanted to gain the benefits of crosstraining how many sessions of judo should i be aiming for? One or two a week, or more?

It depends on the seriousness with which you fight/ play. If you’re competing at national, and international tournaments, then a couple days of judo, mixed with your BJJ would be appropriate. However, if you aren’t that serious then one day should suffice. It also depends on how often you’re training everything else, such as weight training. Maybe provide a bit more detail…

OK,some more details. I am not doing any competing yet, I am still very new to the game. I have access to BJJ training five days a week, and on one of those days I have option of training twice. Being realistic, I make it three or four times a week. I have the option of training judo twice a week without clashing with BJJ, but this would mean I would have training sessions every day of the week unless I drop some BJJ classes.

As for other training,I’m a fully signed up Enamait fanboy- four days on, one day off rotating a challenge (high rep, muscular/anaerobic endurance work), interval running. strength training and GPP.

Where do you train?

That’s quite a bit of training already. I would do as much as you feel comfortable with first. If you notice diminishing gains then cut back. However, if you feel as if you can handle such an aggressive load then ,why not?

Personally, with school and work, I can only handle 3 additional training sessions along with my weight training split of 4 days. But if you don’t have such things interfering, then go for it! It’s a great opportunity.