T Nation

Bad Shoulder Tendon. 531 No Longer an Option?

Hi Jim,
Turns out my shoulder is almost beyond repair if the tendon re-tears.
So currently the plan is to strengthen the other cuff muscles to take the burden off of the perforated one and work on posture during movements to make sure the shoulder isn’t floating around.

So my current plan is to do the “fullbody” template but only the squats (SSB), I do PT exercises everyday as prescribed (all pulling exercises 4x20 5lb, no pressing allowed currently,takes about 30 mins) Then Mon/Wed/Fri the squat portion, should I add any other exercises since the pull and press are out, GHD? abs?

I’ve been doing 531 for many years, unfortunately with the tendon as thin as it is and with not enough good tissue for another surgery I’m being advised that after therapy heavy deadlifting and pressing will be out.

Obviously this means I cant DL or press 531 style. Have you tried any high rep versions of your principles? Possibly 15,12,8 with xx %'s or would this be something I’d have to test for myself or abandon 531 and find a routine more BB style?

Thanks for any suggestions Jim.

“should I add any other exercises since the pull and press are out, GHD? abs?”

Yes, feel free to add in other stuff provided you can do it (which seems you have a good idea of AND that allows you to train without screwing things up too much).

“Have you tried any high rep versions of your principles? Possibly 15,12,8 with xx %'s or would this be something I’d have to test for myself or abandon 531 and find a routine more BB style?” Yes, we have done a lot of stuff by simply altering the TM to fit our goals. We’ve done it a lot with women, too. (to account for the differences in rep ability)

BUT