Backpacking Europe

I’m a recent college grad, spent my summer working in NYC. This fall I’ll be backpacking Europe for a while and was wondering if anyone has any advice on where to go, what to do, safety, anything like that. I’m also pretty big into hiking, so if you know of any hikes I could do that start somewhere close to public transportation, let me know. So here’s my rough itinerary:

Sept 5. - Fly into London, bum around London for a few days, do all those touristy places (Buckingham Palace, London Eye, Big Ben, Tower of London, a museum or two) for a few days.
Sept. 8-9 - York
Sept. 10 - Oxford
Sept. 11 - Edinburgh, maybe two days there
Sept. 12/13 - Go to Iverness in Scotland and start hiking down to Fort William, it’s a 70 mi. 7 day hike.
Sept. 20ish - meet up with a friend in Scotland, go golf
Sept. 21 - go to France, do Paris and the countryside for a day or two
Sept. 23 - head to Germany for Oktoberfest (yes it starts in Sept.), spend a day or two in Munich then head to Berlin, then try and get out to the countryside a bit. I hear that’s where the real Oktoberfest is
Oct. 1ish - go to Amsterdam, get plastered for a few days
Oct. 5/6ish - head to Eastern Europe. This is where I’m pretty hazy. I’ve heard Prague is awesome, any other suggestions? I want to spend about two weeks there
Oct 20ish - Go to Greece. I’ll probably spend about 5 days here, there’s a lot of ruins I want to see.
Oct. 25/26ish - Italy. I’ll spend about two weeks here. I’ve heard Rome is cool, buncha stuff I want to see there, like the Vatican and the ruins. Then to Florence, then Genoa and these fishing villages around there, called Cincua terra (that’s spelled completely incorrectly), supposed to be a cool hike. I might try and get the Alps, too. After Italy for a while I’ll go to…
Nov. 10ish - Spain for a couple days, Barcelona. Any suggestions?
Nov. 15ish - Ireland for about 5-6 days, Dublin and such
Nov 21 - Back to England, wrap up London, fly out on the 22