T Nation

Backflip?

OK so for various reasons (which I won’t go into) I want to learn to do a backflip this year.

I am 36 years old. Fit 90kg. I have no gymnastic experience or ability. I do not really play sport or run anymore - mostly boxing (fitness type) and weights.

So what do you think? This is important to me. I was going to go to a gymnastics club and ask someone to coach me and teach me this one manoeuvre. Any suggestions or advice?

Also, who here can actually perform a backflip - not oon a trampoline? Who is the oldest poster on TN that can pull this off?

They’re not hard, really if you’re decently athletic you should be able to learn it in one session.

If you lack the necessary physical base then expect it to take a while to build it up.

Professional instruction in a good idea.

I can do a backflip. I decided one day that I wanted to try, YouTube’d it and tried.

They aren’t very hard, landed it the first time I ever tried. No tumbling of gymnastics background at all, I just could flip on a trampoline or off a diving board.

Get in touch with PX. He is the local expert in anything athletic around here. His lunge form is legendary.

front flips are safer - you cant land on your head and break your face if it falls short. :slight_smile:

[quote]NikH wrote:
front flips are safer - you cant land on your head and break your face if it falls short. :)[/quote]

50/50 with you on this. Back flips are a lot easier and that’s why they are safer IMO. With a back flip, you’re able to see the ground when you’re landing. The only way a back flip becomes dangerous is if you puss out on it. It’s extremely hard to over-rotate on a back flip. Just like anything else, commit to it and it should be pretty easy. YouTube it like greg did; you don’t need to go to a gymnast to do this.

I’ll be 48 next week and I can still do a back flip. The last time I did it I was 43, but don’t worry I can still do it. I’m awesome.