Back Up Plan: Police Academy

So for the past 4 years I’ve been enrolled in college for 3 years of courses and 1 year of internships. I’m studying industrial engineering and biomechanics, and I’m currently working for a company that does minimally invasive spinal surgery.

However, I’m at the end of my rope with regards to paying for school. Without getting into it, there is a 90% chance that I won’t be able to pay for school this year, whether loans or what not. So it’s time to start exploring other options.

My back up plan has always been the police force. Haven’t really looked into it too much so I figure this is one of the places I should look, since I can get real answers from people that may have experience but aren’t trying to sell me on something. What’s everyones opinion on this?

Funny, I am kinda in the same boat. I am an attorney but am hating my current job and the legal market is hell right now. (I am doing civil litigation, but want to do criminal law.) Even before I went to law school, I was thinking about law enforcement as a career. My current shitty job and the lack of other opportunities is really making think hard about pulling the trigger (pun not intended) on a career as a LEO, whether as an 1811 or with a local agency. I am also interested in hearing responses to this from people in the know.

i was always under the impression you needed a 4 year degree to go LE.

The wait list for the nypd is extremely long right now, if you were to use it as a backup, it wouldn’t be immediate. You should take the entrance exam asap. After benefits and pay were increased, a mass of new bodies signed up (and have taken/placed) for the force

If you can’t get on with the PD think about Customs and Border Protection.