T Nation

Back to SS or Move on?

I had been doing SS for about 5 months and was reaching the end of it around last May (stalling out on lifts 2-3x after deloads). I was planning on moving on to the Texas Method, but I took a bit of time off from the weight room to focus on conditioning, bodyweight work, and life. I’m currently back in the gym doing maintenance work because I lost some strength (particularly in squats), but will be hitting it hard again in a month or so.

Am I better off getting back on SS for a month or two or just moving on?

What is your current height and weight? What are your lifts?

What are you training for? Shape/Size? Strength? Something else?

3-4 sets x 6-8 reps for hypertrophy.

But yeah that’s if like me you bb’ing for aesthetic reasons (though I’ve found added strength and stamina a welcome side effect! stick witha 5 x 5 for lesser sarcplasmia or whatever it’s called hypertrophy or if you wanna just get stronger finsh of starting strenght or try 351 or texas or whatever.)

Google set rep ranges. There’s some interesting real science out there. Basically the 5 x 5 hypertrophy doesnt look like you made as much mass gains as the higher rep type also ads water, glycogen, collogen and other things around the muscle (stuff the lower rep / functional stenght myth lifters call ‘fluff’ or ‘stuffing’)thus you look bigger than the 5 x 5 guy and maybe stronger, even tho he WILL be stronger.

But the science says that that added stuff around the muscle fibres is not just fluff or filler and in fact one theory is the muscle reacts to it as a minor threat and grows bigger and all it really is is potential energy (hence use of creatine which basically makes the fibres draw in more water and more gylocogen - an energy potential chemical or whatever.

What were your lifts / progression like? If you’re stalling after 5 months as a beginner then maybe you’re not eating enough.