T Nation

Back to Square One

Wassup first post on T Nation but I have been scanning for the past 2 years.
I am looking for input on my training and getting back to basics. I have been lifting maybe 2 and a half years no. Period. That’s it. Didn’t lift in high school. I will eventually be competing but wanna get my numbers better before.

Anyways. After much thought and humility. I am realizing that yes. I am still novice as all hell. And the only semi decent lift I have is my 450 DL. Other than that. My squat is stick at maybe 340 and bench a measly 230. I tell you what tho. I was damn proud to finally slap that second plate on there. But it took ages.

I am slowly realizing that there are so many articles and programs that seem aimed at geared lifting. But I want to compete raw. I am thinking I need to take my squat and bench back to square one. And build that starting strength and basic strength. the injuries and aches I have I think are due to becomin over zealous with fancy accessory and weakness training when I really am just weak in general. Also I am thinking that for a while I need leave my 1RM for testing only. Just to see if I am making progress.
So here’s what im thinking

Max effort squat day:
Heavy squat FOR REPS. Sets? 3-5? I was thinking reps of 3-5.
Heavy ham string work
Heavy lower back work.
Core training.

Max effort bench:
Heavy bench for reps. Same shit as squat.
Heavy tricep work.
shoulder work. 5-12 rep ranges? Sets?
Heavy or high rep lats/upper back work

Speed squat:
Speed work: 8 sets 2 reps at 50% 1rm
rep work for hamstrings
Lower back work.
Core.

Speed bench:
Speed work: 8-10 sets 3 reps change grips. But not having arms spread eagle.
Tricep work.
shoulder
lay upper back.

Read an article and a guy was preaching that box squats don’t do shit for raw guys. I guess I could understand with max effort. But what about speed work?

Wrap it up: