T Nation

Back Squat Substitute in SS?

I've been lifting for a few months now, first just doing the Reg park 5x5 to get used to some lifts and the routine, and more recently starting strength.

I'm 6'3", 200lbs, and I'm lifting for strength & size; I play beach volleyball a lot, some indoor, some softball, and some floor hockey. More concerned with overall strength and injury prevention than anything else. 18 months ago I herniated two discs in my upperback (T6-T7 area) in a skydiving accident, and 15 months ago I got hit by a car and tore my PCL, MCL, and meniscus. I retore my knee 6 months later on a botched slide into second base.

Fast forward to now and my knee is pretty much healed and solid, everything has been progressing nicely over the first 4 weeks of SS except my back squat. I still get back pain all the time as my discs have not healed well, and this pain has been inhibiting my backsquat. I don't feel pain during the squat, but my backpain was much worse at night (every night) when I was regularly doing them.

In the last 4 workouts I've replaced the back-squat with a front-squat and my back pain has decreased significantly. I've heard the front-squat might be more beneficial for the tall-lifter, but I've also heard "don't F with the program newbie". All my weights are still very light, but I'm curious if this is an OK substitution. (Workout1 becomes Front Squat, Bench Press, Deadlift, Workout2 becomes Front Squat, Standing Shoulder Press, and Power Clean).

If not, is there some assistance exercise I could add to balance the new program? Also, my back is largely undefined, and I feel like I've been overcompensating for this back injury which has led to poorer posture and probably kyphosis. Are there assistance exercises I should add in general to help with this? I'm not sure SS hits the back very much outside of PCs, so I wouldn't mind some lifts as long as they didn't have the spinal compression similar to the back-squat.

Thanks for any help,