T Nation

Back or Shoulders

can somebody show me where the back starts and where the shoulders end because sometimes i feel like im working my back a little on shoulder days and that im working my shoulders on back days. and if you can point me into the direction of the best lifts to target each muscle seperatly

You can't be fucking serious...

I'm not an expert on any of this... but I'm pretty sure that most pulling exercises involve the rear deltoid. And most overhead pressing involves your traps for stabilizing.

I don't think you need to target each muscle separately.

Now whats the point of having a beginers section if all you get is abuse when you ask questions even if they do seem stupid to the more experienced ???

I have been wanting to ask a few questions myself and this sort of response puts people off.

good answer. A machine press can isolate the delts better then dbs can. And you absolutely will hit the rear delts with rows and whatnot.

While we have "shoulder" and "back" muscles, they are all connected to make you a functioning human.

Well its really common sense.

Move your arm/shoulder and you can feel your traps/lats/pecs and other numerous muscles move. They all work together. You can't really 100% isolate a single muscle as there are almost always supporting muscles that will get involved.

Maybe if the OP posted what exercises he were doing also. It is not uncommon to do a upper back/shoulder workout on the same day because both muscle groups are being used.

Shoulder muscles get involved in so many exercises many people don't even find it necessary to have a shoulder day.

the only pulling exercise i do on shoulder days is a face-pull to target the rear deltoid

if i do lat raises, bent over lat raises or front raises, im targeting the upper trapezius as well as the rear delts

on back day, i pull below the deltoid, often below the pecs, tryin to work the traps, but avoid working the deltoid