Back in Business

It has been a few years since I’ve posted here, but I figured it is time to get make my way back here and see how everyone is doing and maybe even clue people in to what I’m doing training-wise these days.

Cliffs Notes on what I’ve been up to - I had an inguinal hernia that ended up getting bad enough in late-2016 that I just stopped training altogether. Like a lot of dumb guys I let it get worse until it started to affect me doing basic activities. At that point I knew it was dumber than hell to let it go on and I finally got it taken care around a year ago. I started lifting weights again in August 2018, but didn’t get the urge to train specifically in a powerlifting-type routine until right after Thanksgiving. By chance, I saw an ad for the Juggernaut AI program and I remembered who Chad Smith and Garrett Blevins from back in the day, so I knew it would be a well thought-out plan with enough variation to keep things interesting. While the squat and deadlift work can be grueling some weeks for my aging joints, I think it’s a really good program and can’t recommend it enough.

I competed in a USPA meet in April, and ended up with an 1150 total @ a 190 BW. I had no expectations for numbers and honestly it was just to develop a baseline, as I plan on competing in more meets going forward.

Right now I’m roughly 3 months out from a USPA meet and training on a 3-day per week schedule. This is the 5’s week of a strength phase that is following a well-earned deload.

Monday
Low Bar Squat w/u to 295x5 followed by 275x4x5
Incline Bench Press 200x3x5 RPE 7
DB Curls 40x3x8
Lying DB Extensions 40x3x10
Pullups BW+35 3x10 RPE 8
Snatch-grip DLs 315x3x10 RPE 8