T Nation

Awesome, My First Workout

Hey all, rigged up my work bench today, just done my first workout ever, shit I feel good, my legs and arms were twitching abit after the workout, but what a good feeling. Im not to sure if i started off to heavy but I did workout A below, with the weight of 20kgs (44 pounds) for each exercise.

Is this to heavy to start with, should I maybe drop the weights a bit for the first 2 weeks or so. And the (workout A) below only took like a few minutes to do. Is it normal for workouts to be so short. After that I did a bit of cardio. Please advise.

Would it be wise to add Barbell curls for biceps 3x5 and Barbell reverse curls for the forearms to (workout B) or would that be too much for an absolute beginner.

Please be sure to judge my workout below, this is the rippetoes workout programme for beginner, but please feel free to add your knowledge and information.

For the actual workouts read below:

Week 1:

Monday - Workout A
Wednesday -Workout B
Friday - Workout A

Week 2:

Monday - Workout B
Wednesday - Workout A
Friday - Workout B

Workout A
3x5 Squat
3x5 Bench Press
1x5 Deadlift
2 x 8 lever lying flies

Workout B
3x5 Squat
3x5 Standing military press
3x5 Bent Rows

Thanks

im not too familiar w/ rippetoes prog. for beginners, but with avg. rest periods i would think that workout would take at least 30 mins.

and, you shoud not use the same weight for all lifts, nor should you use such a light weight for MOST of those lifts. 3x5’s you should struggle for that last rep each time…

[quote]kobb wrote:
Im not to sure if i started off to heavy but I did workout A below, with the weight of 20kgs (44 pounds) for each exercise.

Is this to heavy to start with, should I maybe drop the weights a bit for the first 2 weeks or so. [/quote]
If you hit all your reps without losing form, it’s not to heavy. Add 5 lbs to everything and keep going.