Average for a Beginner?

I believe I was blessed on leg genetics always felt I had had larger quads & calves than the rest of the kids in school & people I work with. Am I the only person born with an overly devoloped muscle group naturally than the rest of your physical body? I am getting back into physical training. I set up my squat rack in the spare bedroom of my house. Haven’t squatted in years. Wanted to start light to get my form right so went 135x30 could’ve continued… 185x20 then went 205x15 then 255x5 then 275x3 then finally I did 300x2 I know I could’ve did 3 or 4 but I was alone & just did 5 sets.

I then shoulder pressed 135x2, really just messing around I didn’t even know if I could get it but did with no assistance

Is this average for new lifters, I haven’t trained in at least 5 years. My profession is being a hard physical manual laborer working 12 hours a day 7 days a week. I’m natural my stats 6’00” 210lbs not a fat ass but probably 20%bf. Is this pretty good for a lifter starting out at the bottom? I plan to cut to 185-190lbs then bulk to 200+ all natural

Nobody cares how good or bad you are relative to other beginners. Just work hard and see where you land.

3 Likes

Yeah man I do get that… I was just wondering if that’s a good foundation? I guess it was just a silly question eh

My other question was did anyone else have an over devoloped muscle group that was already strong set before ever training.

If you had two heads, you wouldn’t be the first person with two heads. Muscle groups bigger than others, by comparison, is very common.

That will give you a better perspective on some things like effort or what it means to really push yourself, that some newer lifters aren’t accustomed to. Also, eating for the demands placed on your body so that it can recover.