Average Deadlift for Untrained Individual?

I’m curious what you think the average deadlift should be for an untrained individual? I recently started lifting consistently, and have done 185 lbs for up to 10 reps (my grip gives out during multiple sets; I need to buy some straps). Just a few days ago, I lifted 275 off the ground for 1 rep, with admittedly really poor form (a potentially bad move in retrospect, considering the potential for injury). I can’t tell if I’m weak, somewhat strong, or just average.

Whats your weight? Maybe I can give you a rough number of some sort.

Oh, sorry; I’m around 200 lbs (I’m overweight), and I should be at 150-160 lbs, if not lower (I’m 5’7"). Of course, I’m trying to drop the weight, though gradually, and decided to commit to weight training and cardio to do so.

[quote]frank29 wrote:
Oh, sorry; I’m around 200 lbs (I’m overweight), and I should be at 150-160 lbs, if not lower (I’m 5’7"). Of course, I’m trying to drop the weight, though gradually, and decided to commit to weight training and cardio to do so.[/quote]

Well it wouldn’t matter if I thought the average deadlift for an untrained individual at ~200lbs should be 400lbs. All you can do is continue to read, research, eat right and train hard, concentrate on the majoy compounds lifts and they will take off in no time.

This said I would consider 2x bodyweight to be a very general guideline.

I remember I could not move 200lbs a few years ago (1-3),being a little fatigued. My bodyweight was probably 160-185 at 5’10-11.
A 400 clean is not beyond me anymore.

This might help as inspiration.

So many factors involve actually.

Proper glute/ham firing, Technique and lastly good core function all will lead to weight on the bar.

I have a trainee whom i train who is 104 lbs skinny fellow started about a month back, took him 3 weeks or so to learn to fix all of the above, he’s PR is 121 for 3 reps.
Gonna bump up that weight as soon as he’s getting stronger.