Auto Regulation-Strength Training

i’m wondering about auto regulation in my training. After a year off I started training again in April, wanting to gain former strength back, I began by following 531, and things were comming back slow and steady, but when i switched my squat training to a smolov typ routine, my squat jumped forward, it seems by a 100Lbs in 3-5 weeeks.

The point being in my case I think I’m leaving lots of weight on the table using 531 and going up 10Lbs a month. My total is down 500Lbs from my best, and I feel by implementing some sort of autoreg, it could come back faster.

MattyXL had mentioned this to me in my log a couple months ago, but I brushed it off, thinking 531 was my best path, but my ears are open now Matty
This is what Im thinking, stick to the same routine Im on, but instead of having numbers written down for the day, just ramp up in 5s, or 3s, or 1s, so on 5s week ramp up till I cant get 5, fail on rep 3-4, then drop 10% and do my 3x5 at that weight, this will allow me to gain strength faster I hope.

My strength seems to be comming back in spurts, ands my squat has shot ahead since i took it off 531. looking for advice from anyone whos tried this type of training, or whos been strong, and then come back from a layoff Thanks jake

Ime and looking at what other lifters experienced, a high intensity/low-moderate volume/high frequency approach - think daily max+back off sets - for the big 3 works great to QUICKLY max out your dormant strength abilities (basically “peaking”). After several weeks, progress comes to a halt and you have to go back to more volume-based approaches.

Not quite what you had in mind I guess but…

SCREW YOU LOL!