Australian Universities

I’m looking to study abroad in Australia for the spring, but don’t know where to start. I’m majoring in chemical engineering, and here are some of the schools that offer that major:

James Cook University (Townsville)
La Trobe University
University of Newcastle
University of Queensland
University of Adelaide
University of Wollongong
Murdoch University
University of Canterbury
Massey University
University of Auckland
Monash University
University of New South Wales
University of Melbourne

Any advice for considerations, academic or geographical? I am currently at Tufts University near Boston, enrollment 4000-5000.

I can give you a brief run down of some of those Unis:

James Cook Uni - Based in Townsville (a military town), in Queensland’s North. I don’t know what Boston weather is like, but Twonsville gets fucking hot in Summer. The Uni isn’t too bad for practical applications, but if what you major in requires significant academic/theoretical kudos, you might want to consider another uni.

University of Queensland - Based in Brisbane (capital of Queensland, roughly 2 million people, UQ has a very strong academic lean to its programs, and has a good reputation, especially for its business courses.

University of Canterbury
Massey University
University of Auckland
I think these 3 are New Zealand Unis, though they might Australian Campuses.

Monash Uni - I don’t know any course specific info on MU, but they have a good reputation and are considered one of the more “uppity” unis in Australia. I think it is in Melbourne, which is Australia’s version of Hell (in my books anyway). Get as hot as Townsville in Summer, but is cold, wet and miserable in Winter.

Hope this helps.

If you want to see how these unis rate on a world scale, check out http://ed.sjtu.edu.cn/ranking.htm

For climate details, check out this website http://www.bom.gov.au/index.shtml

For a description of all Australian universities, including rankings

Hey veruvius and Massif,