ATTN: Doug Santillo RE: Annapolis Naval Medical Clinic

Hey, Doug, I understand from the forum that you’re a recent Naval Academy grad. I’m a med student with an opportunity to do a rotation in Sports Medicine at Naval Medical Clinic Annapolis. I’m trying to dig up some information on the place before I commit. Are you familiar with the facility and/or staff? If so, what’s your opinion? Is it a good place to learn sports medicine and possibly network? If not can you suggest any other good sites around the country for Naval sports medicine? Anyone else with an opinion is free to chime in as well.

I can’t really give you too much feedback on the sports medicine part of the naval clinic, but from what I’ve seen I’m not too impressed. They aren’t very progressive in their treatment as far as I can tell, don’t have any knowledge of active release or soft tissue therapy (i’ve asked), and generally treat injuries in the typical, mainstream fashion of lots of ibuprofen and time off. I wouldn’t give a lot of weight to my opinion though, because most of the exposure I’ve had to sports medicine has been in the football training room.

What's your background? I'm not sure if you're interested, but the Navy has an outstanding Physical Therapy program. It's an 18 month long school I think (as opposed to 3 years civilian), and you'll have your residency and a lot of experience by the time you get out. I can probably dig up some more details if you're interested.